Simple Chicken Soup Simply Done

So – I get lots of questions about my weight loss and how I’ve done it. As previous blogs show – it’s a combination of many things. One of those things is soup.

My husband grew up with soup. Every warm meal started with soup. It’s cheap and it fills you up (he comes from quite a large family). Oh – and it tastes good, but I think the first two factors were the driving forces for his mother.

I declared I had no intention of making a 2, let alone a 3, course meal everyday. (Puddings were still part of my daily life then, those days are gone.)

Until this year. Now we have a homemade soup every day. I make a couple of litres and it lasts 4 days. 2 soups a week – manageable. And my driving forces are it fills you up and it’s pretty healthy. And it is cheap because mine are mainly seasonal vegetable based.

We have eaten a lot of pumpkin soup in the last couple of months!

I thought I’d share some of my recipes. They are all very simple, and nothing is set in stone. I don’t really measure anything – if it’s too thick I add more water. If it’s too thin we eat, or rather drink,  a bit more. My go-to recipe is chicken and vegetable soup.

Simple Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Put 2 litres of water in a pan and turn on the heat to high. Add 2 boned chicken thighs. Add a selection of chopped vegetables. Add 2 stock cubes. Add some freshly ground black pepper (or not freshly ground – doesn’t matter). Bring to the boil, and then simmer for 20 minutes. Then take out the chicken pieces, shred the chicken, and put it back in.

That’s it. So easy.

I use whatever veg is in season or on offer in the shops. I put in up to a kilo of veg – that’s quite a lot. It is vegetable rich. At the moment I tend to use:

  • Leeks
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Mushrooms

In the summer months I also throw in:

  • Courgette
  • Green beans
  • Kohlrabi
  • Spring onions

And if it looks to be a little veg-light I throw in some frozen peas and sweetcorn.

Anything works really. And it is always well-received. Hurrah.

image

 

One thought on “Simple Chicken Soup Simply Done

Leave a Reply

