Cold Weather and Quilting

Cold, frosty days are the best days for quilting! Not only is it a good excuse to stay inside and enjoy all the Christmassy stuff but you also get warm under your work. Line up the festive films, make a cuppa, and enjoy.

However, a draw back of the cold weather for me is chapped hands. My skin is pretty dry all year round, but freezing temperatures quickly ruin my hands. And that impacts on my quilting – the thread snags on my skin! I quilt with Aurifil embroidery thread – I love the effect and the stitches can be bigger. I don’t split the thread, but my dry skin does unless I use my Aloe Propolis Creme. In this weather it is perfect. It’s not greasy so doesn’t spot the fabric, and you only use a little bit so it lasts for ages. Win win.

imageimage

This is my happy-scrappy-square quilt. I started it years ago but a return to classroom teaching made me lose track of my hobby. Now I’ve quit the classroom I’m picking up my projects again. It’s like meeting old friends. This is a simple 9 patch pattern in summer colours (red, orange, yellow and green). I quilt using a thumb thimble and a needle puller, and my preferred needles are from Roxanne (with the shell on the lid).

Another must have in this weather is my aloe lips lip balm – doesn’t help with patchwork, but I’ll be ready if Santa wants a kiss!

image

Leave a Reply

