Walk it off Wednesday – Stone Circles

Well, Christmas got the better of me. I had planned to share my stone circle findings last week on December 21st – the equinox and the beginning of Yule – very mystic! But then present buying, packing, list checking (etc) got in the way and before I knew it I was in the car heading to the UK for a family Christmas. And now I am back, and it’s Wednesday again.

I found a surprising number of stone circles, not to mention piles of stones (often in 3s), nestled in people’s front gardens. I guess we have a long association with marking special places with rocks. I find it all rather comforting – especially in this sandy land I live in. I remember the joy of childhood holidays on the west coast of Scotland and in north Wales, scrambling over and up enormous boulders that looked like they had been flung there by giants of ancient times.

I still feel the joy of rocks. We have our own stone circle in the back garden – rather obscured by the maple leaves.image

It seems other people in Veghel had a similar idea…

We spent Christmas in Wiltshire, a stone’s throw from a number of ancient stoney sites – Avebury, Stonehenge and Silbury Hill to name a few. This time we didn’t make it to any of them, but now I know I can find a remnant of ancient man in my own urban setting.

This coming week bridges the old year and the new year and so my next theme shall focus on the new – new life and the manner in which the Dutch announce the birth of a baby.

Leave a Reply

