Dutch Brown Bean Soup with a Goulashy Twist

As I have previously mentioned I have a pea-loving spouse, but he is also rather partial to beans too. His discovery of curried baked beans was a joy to behold.  Less so was my discovery of Dutch brown bean soup. He loves it, I find it rather, well, beany and bland. I also cannot match his joy of goulash soup which I find rather chewy.  So I blended the 2 to create what is possibly now my favourite – Brown Bean Goulash Soup.

And it is so easy – ready in 20 minutes, if that.

Fry off (no oil needed) 200g of bacon lardons (I use smoked bacon).  When the fat from the bacon is free add a chopped onion or a chopped leek.  Then add 2 x 500g tins of brown beans.  Mash it all up with a potato masher – I like to see some whole beans, but I like a lot of the beans broken down to thicken the soup.  Add a carton of sieved tomato, 1.5 litres of boiling water and a couple of stock cubes.  Add up to 5 teaspoons of paprika powder – I do 3 smoked paprika, 1 plain paprika and 1 hot paprika. Lovely. Bring soup up to the boil and then simmer for 15 minutes.  At this point add a sliced smoked sausage (rookworst) to the pan.  Season to taste – I just use black pepper.

And eat.

image

Like many things it tastes better the next day.  Perfect cold weather fare.

Leave a Reply

