Banana Bread -an experiment with spelt and coconut flour.

Who doesn’t like banana bread. And there are so many recipes to choose from.  Generally speaking where baking is concerned I like to follow a recipe but I have tried, and liked, so many banana breads I thought I’d give my own a go.

I started with a table full of possible ingredients:image

Then I checked a couple of favourite recipes to get an idea of amounts, and off I went….

  • 3 large bananas
  • 50g softened butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp runny honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200g spelt flour
  • 60g coconut flour
  • 30g broken flaxseed
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

160 c fan oven – 45 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean.

image

Really tasty, not too sweet, lots of fibre – what’s not to like!

image

 

Leave a Reply

