Meat-free Monday – Fruity Curried Rice

I think I may be a flexitarian. I’m not a vegetarian, I eat meat, all meat, and so I am definitely not a vegan, however I have embarked on meat-free week days and am really rather enjoying it. Today’s meat-free fare was an old favourite: fruity curried rice. I used to do this with BBQ food as a side dish or with roast chicken. Basically it goes with anything.

It’s also really good on it’s own – and it’s vegan too. And it’s really simple to make.

The ingredients:

imagee

1 chopped onion
Oil of choice – 2 tablespoons
1 tablespoon curry powder – I use a hot one for this dish
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 chopped pepper – any colour
A big handful of mushrooms
100g basmati rice
100g frozen peas
100g dried apricots – chopped
100g raisins
100g salted peanuts
Some chopped coriander leaf

The method:

Cook the rice and the peas together, then drain and set aside.
Fry the onions, then add the spices and fry them off. Throw in the pepper and mushrooms, add a splash of water if it’s dry. Cook for a couple of minutes. Throw in the rice and peas and heat through. Then throw in the dried fruit and nuts. Lastly add the coriander leaves.

That’s it. You can eat it hot, but I find it tastes better lukewarm.

image

Perfect.

Leave a Reply

